Best compliment I ever received

Daily writing prompt
What was the best compliment you’ve received?

All through my life I have always admired others, not for looks or popularity but talent or intelligence. It only stands to reason that I would wish to be admired in the same way. Youth and beauty change, especially as we age, so I have always been more thrilled when someone compliments something I have written, a photo I have taken or a painting I have done. Or when someone acknowledges my intelligence. Guaranteed I am far from being entered in MENSA or anything but I do love to read and be informed and sometimes that comes in handy and is appreciated by others. All of that being said, the most recent compliment that comes to mind and to me was just the best, was I had been to Brooklyn with my grown son and while there I took a photo of him at a little pizza place we stopped at for lunch. I later posted it on Instagram and a man I had been friends with on Twitter, who was a photographer, saw it and told me that at first he thought I had posted a Henri Cartier-Bresson photo. If you know who Bresson is, you know that as a photographer, especially an amateur such as myself, this was such high praise and one of the best compliments ever.

Leave a comment